Costa Rica

Updated: Jan 7, 2020

Costa Rica is a sovereign state located in Central America and has been an armed force free country since 1948.

Is a unitary presidencial constitutional republic and is known for its long-standing and stable democracy. The country speeds about 6.9% of its budget on education, compared to a global average of 4.4%.

With a 5 million people population and 51,060 square meters in land area, Costa Rica has over 6% of the world's biodiversity and has progressive environmental policies, generating by 2016, 98.1% of its electricity from green sources, like hydro, solar, geothermal and biomass energy.

The highest point in the country is the Cerro Chirripó (3,819m above the sea level) being the fifth highest peak in Central America. There are 14 known volcanoes in Costa Rica and six of them have been active in the last 75 years.

Costa Rica also comprises several islands: Coco's Island stands out because of its distance from the continental landmass, but Isla Calero is the largest island of the country.

Over 25% of Costa Rica's national territory is protected by the National System of Conservation Areas and the country also possesses the greatest density of species in the world.

Because of its location, the Climate is tropical year round; however, the country has several microclimates depending on elevation, rainfall, topography and by the geography of each particular region.

Costa Rica is composed of seven provinces:

-San José







An estimated 333,980 people live in the capital and largest city, San José with around 2 million people in the surrounding metropolitan area.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All